About FFC

Our thanks and gratitude go to all those who have supported us
throughout the years, from 1993 to the present.
View our list of supporters here



Our Vision

Fund for the Future of our Children (FFC) envisions today’s youth as tomorrow’s leaders for peace. Our mission is to nurture those future leaders.

FFC trusts deeply in the creative vision of youth. We see our role as supporting young dedicated visionaries who are already taking on the “mission impossible” task of creating a peaceful world.

© Piotr Mlodozeniec http://www.zafryki.art.pl

Implementing Our Vision

Since 1993, FFC has promoted this vision through a variety of projects. Highlighting human diversity and children’s creative talents, FFC has built on collaborations with organizations committed to developing non-violent expression, global interaction and cross-cultural understanding among children and youth. Read more about our current programs and our past programs.



Fund for the Future of Our Children is governed by a Board of Directors with input from an interfaith Advisory Committee. A dedicated Advisory Committee gives input on matters related to the Children of Abraham Youth Leadership Awards. In the past FFC has sought guidance from Honorary Board,  Honorary CouncilArtistic and Media Council and Youth Advisory Board.


Board of Directors



Emily Gantz McKay
ViceChair/Treasurer, FFC
Consultant, EGM Consulting, LLC




Professor Sulayman S. Nyang
It is with much sadness that we announce the passing of our dear friend and Board member, Professor Sulayman Nyang who passed away on November 12, 2018 after a long illness at United Medical Center in Washington, D.C.




Jorge Romero
Chair, FFC
Attorney, K&L Gates LLP







Avideh Shashaani, Ph.D.
Founder and President, FFC



Advisory Committee

H.E. Ambassador and Mrs. Alvaro Tirado Mejia, Colombia

H.E. Ambassador and Mrs. Alf C. Jonsson, Denmark

Rabbi A. Nathan Abramowitz, Faculty, Theology Department, Georgetown University

Karima Diane Alavi, Director, Dar al Islam Teachers’ Institutes

Dr. Hanan Ashrawi, Commissioner General, Palestinian Independent Commission for Citizens’ Rights

Zeina Azzam, Center for Contemporary Arab Studies, Georgetown University

Maura Casey, CaseyInk, LLC; former member, NY Times Editorial Board

Grace Cavalieri, poet, playwright, radio producer

June Murray-Crawford, World Cultures Teacher, Hudson High School, Hudson, MA

Rita Dove, U.S. Poet Laureate 1993-95

Susan Douglass, Center for Contemporary Arab Studies, Georgetown University

Professor John Esposito, Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding, Georgetown University

Lansing Freeman, Government, Middle East Studies, Peace Studies Teacher, Montgomery Blair High School, Silver Spring, MD

Rabbi Rachel Gartner, Jewish Chaplain, Georgetown University

Fr. Timothy S. Godfrey, S.J., Director of Campus Ministry, Georgetown University

Michael J. Goggin, Assistant Director, Interfaith Conference of Metropolitan Washington (IFC)

Pastor Mark Greiner, Takoma Park Presbyterian Church

Zahra Jamal, Rice University

Imam Yahya Hendi, Muslim Chaplain, Georgetown University

Luby Ismail, Founder, Connecting Cultures

Marguerite Kelly, syndicated family columnist

Alex Kronemer, Writer, Lecturer and Documentary Producer, co-founder Unity Production Foundation

Rob Lehman, Chair, Board of Trustees, The Fetzer Institute

Ken McNeil, Partner, Susman Godfrey LLP

Rabbi Jack Moline, Agudas Achim Congregation, Alexandria, VA

Dr. Richard Mollica, Director of Harvard Program in Refugee Trauma, Harvard School of Public Health

Rev. Kevin O’Brien, VP for Mission and Ministry, Georgetown University

The Rev. Elizabeth Orens Senior Chaplain, National Cathedral School

Eboo Patel, Founder & President, Interfaith Youth Core

Judy Rodgers, Founding Director, Images & Voices of Hope

Rabbi David Saperstein, Coalition to Preserve Religious Liberty

Josetta Owen, philanthropist, social justice advocate

Joann Taylor, Georgetown Day School

David Weeks Global Education, Glenelg Country School

Raul Yzaguirre, President, National Council of La Raza



Fund for the Future of our Children, established in 1993, is a tax-exempt 501(c)(3) non-profit organization based in Washington, DC.

Back to Top